Athletics hawkeyesports.com
24 Hawks to Watch

More than 700 talented student-athletes are currently busy preparing for the 2009-10 athletics year at the University of Iowa.

Some will be freshmen, new to the University of Iowa and the highest level of intercollegiate athletics competition. Others will bring to their team a season or two of experience in competition and in the classroom. Still others will be upperclassmen who will have experienced each of the 11 Big Ten Conference campuses, Big Ten tournament competition, NCAA championship competition or the fun and excitement of a postseason bowl game.

Beginning Aug. 12, hawkeyesports.com will introduce you to 24 Hawkeyes who, for one reason or another, are poised to play a prominent role in the intercollegiate athletics program at the University of Iowa in the coming year. The list will include student-athletes from football and field hockey to soccer, women's basketball and baseball.

A tentative list of Hawkeyes to be profiled, as well as the date they will be featured, is listed below:


Wednesday, Aug. 12 Pat Angerer (football)
 
Thursday, Aug. 20 Megan Schipper (volleyball)
 
Friday, Aug. 28 Jackie Kaeding (soccer)
 
Wednesday, Sept. 2 Tricia Dean (field hockey)
 
Wednesday, Sept. 9 Vince India (men's golf)
 
Tuesday, Sept. 15 Sam Bailin (men's cross country)
 
Wednesday, Sept. 23 Megan Lessard (women's cross country)
 
Thursday, Oct. 1 Alison Cavanaugh (women's golf)
 
Thursday, Oct. 15 Phil Keddy (wrestling)
 
Wednesday, Oct. 28 JoAnn Hamlin (women's basketball)
 
Wednesday, Nov. 11 Devan Bawinkel (men's basketball)
 
Thursday, Dec. 17 Sonja Molnar (women's tennis)
 
Monday, Feb. 1 Ryan Durant (baseball)
 
Wednesday, Feb. 17 Katie Brown (softball)
 
Wednesday, Feb. 24 Erik Sowinski (men's indoor track & field)
 
Friday, Feb. 26 Amanda Hardesty (women's indoor track & field)
 
Wednesday, March 3 Reinoud Haal (men's tennis)
 
Tuesday, March 16 Jonathan Buese (men's gymnastics)
 
Wednesday, March 24 Houry Gebeshian (women's gymnastics)
 
Wednesday, April 14 Katarina Tour (women's swimming & diving)
 
Thursday, April 15 Rhonda Kaye Trusty (women's outdoor track & field)
 
Monday, April 19 Jordan Huff (men's swimming & diving)
 
Thursday, April 22 Jessica Novack (rowing)
 
Thursday, May 13 Steven Willey (men's outdoor track & field)
 

Archived 24 Hawkeyes to Watch