Hawkeye Women Take Invite Title - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Track & Field hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeye Women Take Invite Title
Women finish first with 212 points, while the men finish second with 170.5
Freshman Klyvens Delaunay took the men's triple jump title Saturday.
Freshman Klyvens Delaunay took the men's triple jump title Saturday.

April 13, 2013

  • Read the April issue of Hawk Talk Monthly
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPad/iPhone app!
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye Android app!
  • Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
  • 24 Hawkeyes to Watch

    Complete ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

    MACOMB, Ill. - The University of Iowa track and field team recorded 14 first-place finishes at the Lee Calhoun Invitational on Saturday. The Hawkeye women won the meet title with a total of 212 points, while the men finished second with 170.5 points.

    The Hawkeye women took both the 400-meter and 1,600-meter relay titles. The 400-meter relay team of freshman Lake Kwaza, junior Raven Moore, freshman MonTayla Holder and junior Zinnia Miller recorded a time of 46.07, while the 1,600-meter relay team of Holder, Kwaza, Moore and freshman Kaitlyn Nelson clocked a time of 3:45.39. The men's 1,600-meter relay team of sophomore Kaleb VanCleave, freshman Neil Flattery, and seniors Ryan Weir and Keaton Rickels ran to a second-place finish. The quartet crossed the line in 3:14.16.

    Moore recorded a first-place finish in the women's 100 meters. The junior clocked a time of 12.14. Sophomore Sarah Ryan finished fourth in the event with a time of 12.69. Senior Jordan Mullen ran to a fourth-place finish in the men's 100 meters. Mullen clocked a time of 10.99. Senior Ethan Holmes finished sixth in the event with a time of 11.01, while sophomores Torrey Campbell (11.02) and Babatunde Amosu (11.04) finished eighth and ninth, respectively.

    Sophomore Khanishah Williams ran to a first-place finish in the women's 100-meter hurdles. Williams clocked a personal-best time of 14.49. Senior Jordan Mullen grabbed the men's 110-meter hurdles title. Mullen crossed the line in 14.00.

    Kwaza recorded a personal-best time in the women's 200 meters. The freshman finished first with a personal-best time of 24.18. Holmes took the title in the men's 200 meters when he crossed the line in 21.67. Senior Josh Larney finished fifth in the event with a time of 21.87.

    Holder took the women's 400-meter hurdles title. The freshman recorded a time of 1:00.73.

    "I think we had a lot of solid performances," said Larry Wieczorek, director of track and field. "It was a step forward for both the men and women. I think this meet definitely prepared us well for the Musco Twilight next weekend."

    Nelson (2:09.93) and junior Adrianne Alexia (2:12.07) finished first and second, respectively, in the women's 800 meters. Freshman Neil Flattery clocked a personal-best time in the men's 800 meters. Flattery finished fourth with a time of 1:53.56. Freshman Will Teubel followed close behind, finishing fifth with a time of 1:55.42.

    Freshman Lisa Gordon and graduate student Lauren Scott finished first and second, respectively, in the women's 1,500 meters. Gordon clocked a time of 4:36.11, while Scott crossed the line in 4:36.75. Senior Brooke Gambrall took fourth in the event with a time of 4:40.57, while sophomore Shannon Maser recorded a personal-best time of 4:44.43 to finish seventh.

    Nathan Prom took the men's 1,500 meter title. The junior recoded a personal-best time of 3:55.15. Senior Nate Lonsway (4:02.42; 7th) and Sam Chaney (4:05.06; 14th) also competed in the event.

    The Hawkeye women swept the top three spots in the women's hammer throw. Sophomore Annemie Smith took the title with a toss of 183-8 (55.99m), while juniors Jasmine Simpson (181-6; 55.33m) and Ashlyn Gulvas (178-1; 54.27m) finished second and third, respectively. Junior Chelsea Colpitts recorded a personal-best toss of 162-5 (49.51m) to finish sixth. Her mark ranks eighth all-time at Iowa. Senior Majesty Tutson finished eighth in the event when she recorded a mark of 153-10 (46.88m), while freshman Dakotah Goodell's mark of 133-11 (40.81m) earned her a 15th place finish. Ben Stancombe finished fifth in the men's hammer throw. The senior recorded a mark of 182-1 (55.50m). Sophomore Gabe Hull finished seventh in the event. Hull recorded a personal-best toss of 168-00 (51.22m).

    Hull took the title in the men's shot put competition. The sophomore recorded a mark of 54-3 ¾ (16.55m). Junior Andrew Carman finished tenth in the event with a toss of 46-9 1//2 (14.26m). Rachel Curry finished second in the women's shot put. The senior recorded a toss of 45-7 ¾ (13.91m).

    Freshman Klyvens Delaunay finished first in the men's triple jump. Delaunay recorded a leap of 48-8 (14.83m). Freshman David Nsabua earned a third-place finish with a mark of 46-10 ¼ (14.28m), while freshman Kerry Dean Jr. finished sixth (45-7 ¼; 13.90m).

    Senior Kirsten Weismantle and sophomore Brittany Holst tied for third place in the women's pole vault. The duo cleared a height of 10-8 (3.25m). Senior Kyle Reid (15-7; 4.75m) finished third in the men's pole vault.

    Seniors Ryan Weir and Kyle Slaymaker clocked personal-best times in the men's 400 meters. Weir finished fifth with a time of 49.15, while Kyle Slaymaker finished seventh with a time of 49.29.

    Caleb Wilfong ran to a second-place finish in the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase. The freshman clocked a time of 9:33.00. Sophomore Jocelyn Todd ran to a third-place finish in the women's 3,000 meters. Todd recorded a time of 10:10.46. Junior Sam Chaney finished sixth in the men's 3,000 with a time of 8:49.62.

    The Hawkeyes host the Musco Twilight XIV on April 20.

  • Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago