Haluska and Schnepf Awarded Big Ten Medal of Honor - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Men's Basketball hawkeyesports.com
Haluska and Schnepf Awarded Big Ten Medal of Honor
Hawkeyes win oldest Big Ten award
Adam Haluska
Adam Haluska
Men's Basketball Home

Peter Jok Invited to Nike Basketball Academy

George Raveling Honored by NABC

Baer to Travel to Italy with USA East Coast All-Stars

Follow all of the college basketball action at CollegeSports.com

Email this to a friend

June 13, 2007

IOWA CITY - Winners of the Big Ten's oldest award, the Medal of Honor, were announced today by the conference office. Iowa's honorees are all-Americans Heather Schnepf (field hockey) and Adam Haluska (basketball).

First awarded in 1914, the Big Ten endowed a Medal of Honor to be given annually to a student in the graduating class of each university that demonstrated proficiency in scholarship and athletics. In 1982, the Medal of Honor was expanded to include a senior female athlete from each institution.

Haluska earned first team all-Big Ten honors this season. The native of Carroll, IA, is also a first team academic all-American and was named the Academic all-American of the Year for Division I men's basketball. Haluska led the Big Ten Conference in scoring, averaging 20.5 points in all games and 21.3 in league games.

Heather Schnepf

In addition to being an all-America pick, Schnepf was the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. She is only the third player in Big Ten history to earn the defensive award in back-to-back years. Schnepf, a native of Medford, NJ, was a unanimous first team all-Big Ten selection and was named to the all-Big Ten tournament team.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago