Hawkeyes Announce 2013-14 Award Winners - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Men's Swimming hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Announce 2013-14 Award Winners
Rhoads, Kabacinski, Grilli, Boschult earn top honors

April 29, 2014

  • Read the April issue of Hawk Talk Monthly
  • Download your Hawk Talk Monthly iOS app
  • Download your Hawk Talk Monthly android app
  • Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone/iPad app
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye android app
  • 24 Hawkeyes to Watch

    IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa swimming and diving team handed out its annual team awards April 27 inside the Feller Club Room.

    Senior Dustin Rhoads was awarded the Armbruster/Patton Most Valuable Player award, while sophomore Addison Boschult was the recipient of the "Lobby" Lobdell Diving Award, given to the top male diver, for the second year in a row.

    Sophomore Olivia Kabacinski received recognition as the women's MVP, while redshirt junior Abby Grilli earned the Nancilea Underwood Award for the second consecutive season, presented to the diving team MVP.

    Rhoads earned the MVP honors after qualifying for the 2014 NCAA Championships in both the 100 and 200-yard backstroke. The Ames, Iowa, native placed 34th in the 100-back and 32nd in the 200-back. Rhoads swam to the fastest time this season in the 100 back (46.53), while posting a school record in the 200-back (1:42.94) at Big Ten Championships. He also swam on the team-leading 200 (1:26.33) and 400 (3:10.58) medley relays.

    Boschult paced the Hawkeyes in the diving well, leading the team in both the 3-meter springboard and the platform. A native of Omaha, Neb., Boschult posted NCAA Zone qualifying scores in all three diving events, and set the school record on the platform, diving to a final score of 373.85.

    Kabacinski led the Hawkeyes in three events, including two school records, en route to being named the women's MVP. She swam to a school record in the 50-free (22.70) and 100-free (49.84), while also leading the team in the 200-free (1:47.68). The La Porte, Ind., native was also a member of the record-setting 400 (3:21.07) and 800 (7:12.49) freestyle relays, while also contributing to the team-leading 200 freestyle relay (1:31.93) and 400 medley relay (3:39.54).

    Grilli was recognized as the top female diver after being named the Big Ten Diver of the Week on three separate occasions this season. A native of Burr Ridge, Ill., Grilli paced the Hawkeyes in the 3-meter springboard (336.97), while also recording a NCAA Zone qualifying score in the 1-meter springboard (319.45).

    Sophomore David Ernstsson was the recipient of the Wally Ris Memorial Award for swimming the fastest 100-freestyle time throughout the course of the season. Ernstsson, from Stockholm, Sweden, led Iowa in the event, touching out in 44.59 seconds at the Hawkeye Invitational.

    Senior Andrew Marciniak earned the Jim Marshall Award, handed out to a male senior who contributed to the team to the best of his athletic ability. Marciniak led the team in both the 100 (53.58) and 200 (1:55.89) breaststroke, with his 100 breast time registering as a program record.

    Sophomore Tyler Nichols was presented with the Irving B. Weber Award for outstanding team leadership, and Senior Elise Borja the recipient of the Allison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award. Rhoads and seniors Emily Hovren and Karolina Wartalowicz received the men's and women's Strength and Conditioning Achievement Award.

    Men's Award Winners
    Armbruster/Patton MVP: Dustin Rhoads
    "Lobby" Lobdell Award: Addison Boschult
    Irving B. Weber Award: Tyler Nichols
    Wally Ris Memorial Award: David Ernstsson
    Jim Marshall Award: Andrew Marciniak
    Strength and Conditioning Award: Dustin Rhoads

    Women's Award Winners
    Women's MVP: Olivia Kabacinski
    Nancilea Underwood Award: Abby Grilli
    Allison Pennington Haddon Strength of Character Award: Elise Borja
    Strength and Conditioning Award: Emily Hovren, Karolina Wartalowicz

  • Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago