Hawkeyes Edged By #4 Illinois In Home Finale, 7-0 - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Men's Tennis hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Edged By #4 Illinois In Home Finale, 7-0
Iowa enters conference tournament as No. 9 seed
Sophomore Jonny Hoak played a hard-fought second set before falling 6-2, 6-4 to Evan Zeder
Sophomore Jonny Hoak played a hard-fought second set before falling 6-2, 6-4 to Evan Zeder
Men's Tennis Home

Jason Kerst to Join Hawkeye Roster

Michigan Downs Iowa at Big Ten Tournament

Hawkeyes Bounce No. 58 Indiana at B1G Tournament

Follow all of the college tennis action at CollegeSports.com

Email this to a friend

April 24, 2005

Iowa City, IA - The Iowa men's tennis team was unable to win their last home match of the season, losing 7-0 to 4th-ranked Illinois on Sunday. With the win, Illinois moved to 10-0 in conference play, earning the Big Ten regular season crown. Iowa concludes conference play with a record of 2-8.

On a windy afternoon, Illinois jumped out to a 1-0 lead by taking the doubles point. Iowa's closest match of the day occurred at No. 1 doubles where juniors Kyle Markham and Brett Taylor lost an 8-5 decision to Ryler DeHeart and Pramod Dabir.

Illinois showed why they are one of the premiere teams in the country in singles play, winning all six matches in straight sets. The Hawkeyes were competitive, but could not gain any momentum in the singles matches. At No. 1 singles, junior Chaitu Malempati lost a 6-3, 6-1 decision to 7th-ranked DeHeart. Markham also faced tough competition, falling 6-2, 6-1 to 28th-ranked GD Jones.

"Despite the loss, we've made substantial improvement this year," noted Head Coach Steve Houghton. "We went from three wins last year to ten this year and we have a bright future."

Iowa's immediate future includes a trip to The Atkins Tennis Center on the campus of The University of Illinois to compete in the Big Ten Championships on Thursday. The Hawkeyes enter the tournament as the No. 9 seed. Iowa's opponent is yet to be determined.

#4 Illinois 7

No.1 DeHeart/Dabir (ILL) def. Markham/Taylor (IOWA) 8-5
No. 2 Jones/Martin (ILL) def. Malempati/Schaechterle (IOWA) 8-3
No. 3 Zeder/Davis (ILL) def. Ritchie/van Monsjou (IOWA) 8-0

No. 1 #7 Ryler Deheart (ILL) def. Chaitu Malempati (IOWA) 6-3, 6-1
No. 2 #28 GD Jones (ILL) def. Kyle Markham (IOWA) 6-2, 6-1
No. 3 Ruben Gonzales (ILL) def. J.P. Ritchie (IOWA) 6-3, 6-2
No. 4 Chris Martin (ILL) def. Bart van Monsjou (IOWA) 6-1, 6-2
No. 5 Ryan Rowe (ILL) def. Brett Taylor (IOWA) 6-2, 6-4
No. 6 Evan Zeder (ILL) def. Jonny Hoak (IOWA) 6-2, 6-4

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago