Hawkeyes Go 3-1 In First Day - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Wrestling hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Go 3-1 In First Day
Iowa to wrestle Hofstra for fifth place at N.W.C.A./Cliff Keen National Duals Sunday
Senior Eric Luedke (174) was one of two Hawkeyes to go 4-0 during the first day of competition at the N.W.C.A./Cliff Keen National Duals in Cedar Falls, IA.
Senior Eric Luedke (174) was one of two Hawkeyes to go 4-0 during the first day of competition at the N.W.C.A./Cliff Keen National Duals in Cedar Falls, IA.
Wrestling Home

Burak Named Academic All-District

Burak, Meyer Earn NWCA Academic Honor

Kemerer Wins UWW National Title

Follow all of the college wrestling action at CollegeSports.com

Email this to a friend

Jan. 13, 2007


The Iowa wrestling team went 3-1 during the first day of competition at the N.W.C.A./Cliff Keen National Duals in Cedar Falls, IA. The fifth-seed Hawkeyes won their opening match against unseeded California-Davis (41-4), lost the quarterfinals to fourth-seed Oklahoma State (22-13), and rebounded to defeat unseeded Nebraska (30-5) and eighth-seed Northwestern (22-18) in the consolation bracket - all in less than 12 hours. Iowa is now 8-1.

The Hawkeyes won nine of 10 matches in their 41-4 win over California-Davis in the opening round at 9 a.m. Senior Mario Galanakis (133) picked up his 30th career win with a 13-2 major decion over Aggie Kyle Bank.

Iowa didn't fare as well in the quarterfinals, losing a 22-13 decision to Oklahoma State at 1 p.m. The Cowboys jumped out to a 15-0 lead after the first four matches before Iowa redshirt freshman Ryan Morningstar scored a 2-1 win over Newly McSpadden at 157. Cowboy senior Johny Hendricks immediately followed up with a 9-1 major decision over Hawkeye junior Mark Perry, improving his career record against Perry to 5-0 and handing Perry his second loss the of the season. The Hawkeyes scored 10 team points with wins at the next three weights, giving junior heavyweight Matt Fields a change to tie the dual, 19-19, with a pin, but redshirt freshman Jared Rosholt beat Fields, 2-1, to seal the win for Oklahoma State.

The Hawkeyes rebounded in the consolation bracket to beat Nebraska (30-5) at 5 p.m., and Northwestern (22-18) at 7 p.m. Senior Alex Grunder (149) picked up his 25th career win with a 10-6 win over Northwestern's Martin Gould and Perry scored his 60th career victory with a 6-4 decision over Wildcat Greg Hagel. Senior Eric Luedke and redshirt freshman Ryan Morningstar were the only Hawkeyes to go 4-0 on the day. Luedke is now 16-1 in collegiate competition and 7-0 in duals.

Iowa (8-1) will wrestle third-seed Hofstra (10-1-2) Sunday at 1 p.m. for fifth place. Iowa is 5-0 against Hofstra, winning the last meeting (24-15) in 2002. Fans can keep up with results by listening to the broadcast at www.hawkeyesports.com via the CSTV All-Access pass, watching the free web cast at www.livesportsvideo.com or viewing live text results at www.intermatwrestle.com.

Iowa 41, California-Davis 4 - Championship First Round
125 - Charlie Falck (I) pinned Marcos Orozco (CD), 3:43
133 - Mario Galanakis (I) maj. dec. Kyle Bank (CD), 13-2
141 - Alex Tsirtsis (I) dec. Nexi Delgado (CD), 6-3
149 - Alex Grunder (I) maj. dec. Shawn Haratani (CD), 12-3
157 - Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Jon Clark (CD), 5-3
165 - Mark Perry (I) pinned Dustin Noack (CD), 0:38
174 - Eric Luedke (I) pinned Kyle Dubs (CD), 2:16
184 - Phillip Keddy (I) won by forfeit
197 - Eliot Kelly (CD) maj. dec. Rick Loera (I), 12-4
Hwt. - Matt Fields (I) dec. Broc Mafia (CD), 9-4

Oklahoma State 22, Iowa 13 - Championship Quarterfinals
125 - Tyler Shinn (OSU) dec. Charlie Falck (I), 5-4
133 - Coleman Scott (OSU) dec. Mario Galanakis (I), 8-2
141 - Nathan Morgan (OSU) dec Alex Tsirtsis (I), 4-2
149 - Dakotah Simpson (OSU) pinned Alex Grunder (I), 1:17
157 - Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Newly McSpadden (OSU), 2-1
165 - Johny Hendricks (OSU) maj. dec. Mark Perry (I), 9-1
174 - Eric Luedke (I) dec. Brandon Mason (OSU), 3-2
184 - Phillip Keddy (I) dec. Jack Jensen (OSU), 7-3
197 - Dan Erekson (I) maj. dec. Jared Shelton (OSU), 11-1
285 - Jared Rosholt (OSU) dec. Matt Fields (I), 2-1

Iowa 30, Nebraska 5 - Consolation Second Round
125 - Charlie Falck (I) dec. Paul Donahoe (NEB), 9-7
133 - Mario Galanakis (I) pinned Mike Rowe (NEB), 6:52
141 - Alex Tsirtsis (I) dec. Dominick Moyer (NEB), 4-3
149 - Robert Sanders (NEB) dec. Alex Grunder (I), 7-2
157 - Ryan Morningstar (I) dec. Chris Oliver (NEB), 4-0
165 - Mark Perry (I) dec. Stephen Dwyer (NEB), 9-6
174 - Eric Luedke (I) dec. Marc Harwood (NEB), 4-3
184 - Phillip Keddy (I) dec. Levi Wofford (NEB), 7-1
197 - Craig Brester (NEB) dec. Dan Erekson (I), 10-5
Hwt. - Matt Fields (I) won by forfeit

Iowa 22, Northwestern 18 - Consolation Third Round
125 - Brandon Precin (NW) pinned Charlie Falck (I), 3:20
133 - Mario Galanakis (I) dec. Eric Metzler (NW), 3-2
141 - Alex Tsirtsis (I) pinned James Kohlberg (NW), 0:47
149 - Alex Grunder (I) dec. Martin Gould (NW), 10-6
157 - Ryan Morningstar (I) maj. dec. Dominic Marella (NW), 18-5
165 - Mark Perry (I) dec. Greg Hagel (NW), 6-4
174 - Eric Luedke (I) dec. Nick Hayes (NW), 5-2
184 - Jake Herbert (NW) pinned Phillip Keddy (I), 3:44
197 - Mike Tamillow (NW) dec. Dan Erekson (I), 8-2
Hwt. - Dustin Fox (NW) dec. Matt Fields (I), 3-2 TB-1

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago