Telford Opens, Closes 2012 Wrestle-offs - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Telford Opens, Closes 2012 Wrestle-offs
Hawkeye heavyweight notches a pair of pins during Saturday's finals
Cory Clark (red) tries to escape the grasp of Matt McDonough (blue) in the 125-pound finals of the wrestle-offs.
Cory Clark (red) tries to escape the grasp of Matt McDonough (blue) in the 125-pound finals of the wrestle-offs.
Wrestling Home

7 Hawkeyes Earn Hall of Fame Nod

Daniel Dennis to Compete at Freestyle World Cup

Burak Named 1st-Team Academic All-America

Follow all of the college wrestling action at

Email this to a friend

Nov. 10, 2012

Photo Gallery 

IOWA CITY, Iowa - More than 800 fans filed into the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex to watch the final round of the 2012 University of Iowa wrestle-offs Saturday morning. Sophomore Bobby Telford headlined and closed the event with a pair of first period pins in the 285-pound bracket.

Telford flattened sophomore Josh Haug in 2:15 and put freshman Artie Bess on his back in 1:12 to win the heavyweight bracket. He was one of five All-Americans to climb to the top of their respective bracket. Returning All-Americans Matt McDonough (125), junior Tony Ramos (133), senior Grant Gambrall (174) and junior Ethen Lofthouse (184) also won their respective weight class.

McDonough, a senior and two-time NCAA champion, scored a reversal with five seconds left in the match to defeat freshman Cory Clark, 3-2, at 125 pounds. McDonough opened the scoring with a second period escape before Clark grabbed the lead with a reversal with 30 seconds left in the final period. McDonough returned the favor 25 seconds later to regain the lead and earn the one-point win.

Ramos didn't allow an offensive point and totaled eight takedowns, one escape and 4:25 of riding time to earn an 18-7 win over freshman Topher Carton at 133. Gambrall sandwiched a pair of takedowns between two second period escapes and earned 1:06 of riding time to defeat redshirt freshman Kris Klapprodt, 7-2, at 174.

Lofthouse earned a 4-3 win over freshman Sammy Brooks at 184. After a scoreless opening period, Brooks bid for an upset by building a 3-0 lead in the second period. Lofthouse eventually answered with an escape and tied the match, 3-3, by scoring a takedown with three seconds left on the second period clock. He then opened the third frame with an escape to grab a final 4-3 lead.

Senior Mark Ballweg (141), redshirt freshman Brody Grothus (149), sophomore Mike Evans (165) and freshman Nathan Burak also scored victories in today's final round. Ballweg scored a takedown with 30 seconds left in the match to earn a 3-1 win over sophomore Josh Dziewa.

Evans used one takedown, one reversal and 1:40 of riding time to blank sophomore Nick Moore, 5-0, at 165. Grothus used a takedown and two near-fall points to jump to an early lead and cruise to an 8-2 win over freshman Patrick Rhoads at 149. Burak scored a pair of takedowns and added an escape to defeat Tomas Lira, 5-3, at 197.

The Hawkeyes open the season Friday at Tennessee-Chattanooga. Beginning at 2:30 p.m. (CT), Iowa will wrestle consecutive duals against Cumberland (Tenn.), Virginia and Tennessee-Chattanooga. All three matches will be broadcast on AM-800 KXIC and streamed live at via Hawkeye All-Access.

149 - Patrick Rhoads major dec. Jake Kadel, 15-6

125 - Matt McDonough tech. fall Matt Gurule, 19-3
125 - Cory Clark dec. Thomas Gilman, 3-1 SV
141 - Mark Ballweg tech. fall Connor Ryan, 18-2
141 - Josh Dziewa dec. Ethan Owens, 7-3
149 - Patrick Rhoads dec. Michael Kelly, 7-4
149 - Brody Grothus win by forfeit over Joe DuCharme
165 - Nick Moore dec. Walt Gillmor, 5-3
184 - Ethen Lofthouse major dec. Alex Meyer, 13-4
184 - Sammy Brooks dec. Jeremy Fahler, 8-3

285 - Bobby Telford pinned Josh Haug, 2:15
125 - Matt McDonough dec. Cory Clark, 3-2
133 - Tony Ramos major dec. Topher Carton, 18-7
141 - Mark Ballweg dec. Josh Dziewa, 3-1
149 - Brody Grothus dec. Patrick Rhoads, 8-2
165 - Mike Evans dec. Nick Moore, 5-0
174 - Grant Gambrall dec. Kris Klapprodt, 7-2
184 - Ethen Lofthouse dec. Sammy Brooks, 4-3
197 - Nathan Burak dec. Tomas Lira, 5-3
285 - Bobby Telford pinned Artie Bess, 1:12

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago