Perry Earns No. 2 Seed - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Perry Earns No. 2 Seed
NCAA releases wrestling brackets
Junior 165-pounder Mark Perry has earned the No. 2 seed for the upcoming NCAA Championships.
Junior 165-pounder Mark Perry has earned the No. 2 seed for the upcoming NCAA Championships.
Wrestling Home

Burak Named Academic All-District

Burak, Meyer Earn NWCA Academic Honor

Kemerer Wins UWW National Title

Follow all of the college wrestling action at

Email this to a friend

March 12, 2007


Complete Brackets in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

The NCAA released brackets for the upcoming 2007 NCAA Wrestling Championships Monday evening. Five of Iowa's eight qualifiers earned individual seeds.

Junior Mark Perry (165) earned Iowa's highest individual seed at second, senior Eric Luedke (174) and sophomore Charlie Falck (125) are seeded fifth, junior Alex Tsirtsis (141) is seeded sixth and junior Matt Fields (Hwt.) is seeded seventh. Senior Mario Galanakis (133) and redshirt freshmen Ryan Morningstar (157) and Phillip Keddy (184) did not earn seeds.

Falck and Perry are both 1-0 vs. their first round opponents from UC-Davis, both scoring pins at the 2007 N.W.C.A./National Duals in Cedar Falls. Falck pinned Marcos Orozco in 3:43, while Perry decked Dustin Noack in 38 seconds. This will be the first time the rest of Iowa's qualifiers will meet their opponents.

The NCAA Championships are scheduled for Thursday through Saturday at the Palace of Auburn Hills in Auburn Hills, MI. ESPN will air Saturday's finals live at 7 p.m. ESPNU will carry both of Friday's sessions and the Saturday morning session live with air times of 10 a.m. and 6 p.m. Friday and 9 a.m. Saturday.

125 - #5 Charlie Falck (Iowa) vs. Marcos Orozco (UC-Davis)
133 - Mario Galanakis (Iowa) vs. Conor Beebe (C. Michigan)
141 - #6 Alex Tsirtsis (Iowa) vs. Justin Pearch (Oregon)
157 - Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) vs. winner of Jonny Bonilla-Bowman (Virgina Tech)/Ryan Hluschak (Drexel)
165 - #2 Mark Perry (Iowa) vs. Dustin Noack (UC-Davis)
174 - #5 Eric Luedke (Iowa) vs. Grant Turner (Iowa St.)
184 - Phillip Keddy (Iowa) vs. #9 Christian Sinnott (C. Michigan)
Hwt. - #7 Matt Fields (Iowa) vs. Nathan Tobaben (Army)

Click HERE to learn more about the Big Ten Network.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago