Hawkeyes Win Big Ten Tournament - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Field Hockey hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Win Big Ten Tournament
Lauren Pfeiffer named Tournament MVP
Iowa Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum shows off the Big Ten Tournament Championship Trophy
Iowa Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum shows off the Big Ten Tournament Championship Trophy
Field Hockey Home

BTN Announces Fall TV Schedule

Kniptash Selected to USA Field Hockey Event

Jones, Omweg to Compete at Young Women’s National Championship

Follow all of the college field hockey action at CollegeSports.com

Email this to a friend

Nov. 5, 2006

Video Highlights |  Final Stats |  Photo Gallery 

Box Score in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

ANN ARBOR, MI - - The University of Iowa field hockey team won its second Big Ten Tournament title by beating No. 6 Penn State today, 2-1.  Sophomore Lauren Pfeiffer, led the Hawkeyes to victory once again.  She scored two goals, raising her tournament total to five, tied for second most in Big Ten Tournament history.

During the 12th minute of play, the Hawkeyes scored the first points of the game coming from a penalty corner. Kadi Sickel pushed the ball to Heather Schnepf who then stopped ball for Pfeiffer to smash past the defense. The Nittany Lions were awarded two penalty corners during the 18th minute, but the stellar defense of the Hawkeyes denied both corners. On a shot taken by Pfeiffer one minute later, a foul was called on Penn State, awarding Iowa with a penalty stroke. Pfeiffer took the penalty stroke and scored her second goal of the game, making the score 2-0. Nearly ten minutes later, a similar foul was called on Iowa awarding Penn State with a penalty stroke. Mallory Weisen took the penalty stroke for the Nittany Lions and put the ball past Iowa's defense. The score remained 2-1 at halftime.

The second half turned into a defensive battle. The Hawkeye defense allowed Penn State only two shot attempts during the period. Iowa was awarded five penalty corners, but the Nittany Lions' defense stood strong and denied all five tries. With only two minutes left in regulation, Penn State attempted their final shot which was blocked, giving Iowa a 2-1 win and a Big Ten Tournament championship.

Schnepf and Pfeiffer were both named to the all-tournament team. Pfeiffer was also named tournament MVP. Schnepf ended the tournament with three assists and many defensive stops as Pfeiffer ended with five goals on 12 shots.

A replay of the championship game can be seen Tuesday at 4:30 p.m. (CT), Wednesday at 11 p.m. and Nov. 12 at 7 a.m. on CSTV. A full schedule can be found at www.cstv.com.

The win improves Iowa's overall record to 12-8 and also awards them with the Big Ten's automatic birth to the NCAA Tournament.

Iowa will return to action on Saturday in NCAA Tournament action. The site is yet to be determined. The NCAA Tournament selection show will be shown Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. (CT) on CSTV.

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago