Iowa Sets Tournament Record With Tenth-Straight Win - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Field Hockey
Iowa Sets Tournament Record With Tenth-Straight Win
Hawkeyes face top-seeded Michigan State Friday on the Big Ten Network
Senior Meghan Beamesderfer led Iowa to its record setting tenth-straight Big Ten Tournament win Thursday against Michigan.
Senior Meghan Beamesderfer led Iowa to its record setting tenth-straight Big Ten Tournament win Thursday against Michigan.
Field Hockey Home

Spring Season Serves Important Role for Hawkeyes

Iowa Field Hockey Releases Spring Schedule

5 Hawkeyes Earn NFHCA Academic Honors

Follow all of the college field hockey action at

Email this to a friend

Nov. 5, 2009

Box Score

  • Big Ten Tournament Central

  • Iowa and the Big Ten Network
  • Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
  • 24 Hawkeyes to Watch (2009-10 season)

    EAST LANSING, MI - - The University of Iowa field hockey team defeated Michigan in the first round of the Big Ten Tournament Thursday, 5-3, on the campus of Michigan State University. The win marks the tenth-straight Big Ten Tournament win for the Hawkeyes, breaking Penn State's record of nine-straight wins held from 1995-98.

    "We played an outstanding first half and followed the game plan," said Head Coach Tracey Griesbaum. "We executed and put the ball in the net. In the second half, we were not as attack-minded and that left some holes open on the defensive end. We have to take it one day at a time and regroup for tomorrow."

    The Hawkeyes, winners of five of their last six, struck first in the 18th minute of play. Senior Meghan Beamesderfer scored off a rebound to give the Hawkeyes a 1-0 advantage. In the 30th minute, senior Tricia Dean scored off a corner to push the Iowa lead to 2-0 at the break.

    In the early moments of the second half, Beamesderfer added her second goal of the day off a corner, giving the fourth-seeded Hawkeyes a 3-0 lead. The Wolverines, seeded fifth, then added two goals to make the score 3-2. Iowa kept the pressure on and added two additional goals to seal the victory. Freshman Geena Lesiak recorded her first career postseason goal and Beamesderfer added her third for the hat trick.

    Iowa has won three-straight tournament titles and will be looking to keep the streak going tomorrow against top-seeded and regular season champion Michigan State. The Hawkeyes and eighth-ranked Spartans will play at 11:15 a.m. (CT) on the Big Ten Network.

    MICH (7-14)		0	3  - -  3
    IOWA (9-9)		2	3  - -  5

    IOWA Meghan Beamesderfer (unassisted) 17:38/1st IOWA Tricia Dean (Leslie Pyle, Sarah Pergine) 29:29/1st IOWA Meghan Beamesderfer (Tricia Dean, Sarah Pergine) 38:33/2nd MICH Meredith Way (Eileen Brandes, Heather Wiley) 50:39/2nd MICH Paige Laytos (Meredith Way) 57:35/2nd IOWA Meghan Beamesderfer (unassisted) 60:28/2nd IOWA Geena Lesiak (Jess Werley) 66:21/2nd MICH Meredith Way (Jenner Johnson) 67:40/2nd

    Shots - Iowa 13, Michigan 10 Penalty Corners - Iowa 11, Michigan 4 Saves - Kathleen McGraw (Iowa) 4; Paige Pickett (Michigan) 3

  • Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago