Hawkeyes Perform Strong in Clemson - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Women's Rowing hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Perform Strong in Clemson
Iowa places in top-three in five races; second V4+ boat records win
Iowa's second V4+ boat claimed the lone victory for the Hawkeyes on Saturday in Clemson, S.C.
Iowa's second V4+ boat claimed the lone victory for the Hawkeyes on Saturday in Clemson, S.C.
Women's Rowing Home

Hawkeyes Place 5th in B1G Rowing Championship

B1G Rowing Championships Schedule Altered

Opportunity Knocks at B1G Championships

Email this to a friend

March 22, 2014

Clemson Meet ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

CLEMSON, S.C. -- The University of Iowa women's rowing team competed against Clemson, Buffalo, Duke, Kansas and Purdue on Lake Hartwell in Clemson, S.C. on Saturday morning. The Hawkeyes placed in the top-three in five of six races.

Iowa second V4+ boat took first with a time of 7:40.6 for the Hawkeyes' lone victory of the day.

"I think that the racing went quite well, all things considered," said head coach Andrew Carter. "We were coming off a full training camp that allowed us to get on the water for the first time and the crews had a good sense that they made some solid progress in that short window.

"There were some high-quality crews out there today and Clemson and Duke, in particular, are moving quite well. Being in the mix with those teams is a great way to start our racing season. I think it has injected a new level of enthusiasm for what's next."

The first event that Iowa competed in was the third V8+ as they took second with a time of 7:18. Duke won in race with a time of 7:16.7.

In the first V8+, Iowa finished third with a time of 6:55.18. Clemson won the race with a time of 6:42.60, while Duke took the runner-up spot in 6:49.03.

The Hawkeyes took the runner-up spot in the second V8+ behind Clemson with a time of 6:56.42.

In the last race of the day, Iowa finished second behind Clemson in the first V4+ with a time of 7:38.7.

Fans can watch highlights from today's meet at http://www.clemsontigers.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=28500&ATCLID=209439605.

The Hawkeyes will travel to San Diego to compete at the 41st annual San Diego Crew Classic April 5-6.

Lineups: 1V8+ Claire Benschoter Erin Czupil Morgan Grastorf Beth Baustian Edwina Flakemore Cristy Hartman Brianna Achs Zoe Ribar Sarah Bartlett (coxswain)

2V8+ Laura Hallman Maddie Anglin Gabby Watson Nicole Mitchell Allison Hanson Lauren Subler Jessica Streur Rebecca Thompson Katie Brown (coxswain)

1V4+ Nina Hendriks Alyssa Armstrong Sarah Rhoads Mackenzie Norton Destinee Gwee (coxswain)

2V4+ Rachel Crosley Kasia Gniatczyk Bec Clayton Skylar McSorley Rachel Chambers (coxswain)

N8+ Kelly Below Mackenzi Hefel Kathleen Meek Sarah Powell Trisha Martin Kat Tillman Emily Miller Lauren VanderWall Alyse Higgins (coxswain)

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago