Hawkeyes Complete Day 1 of Clemson Invite - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Women's Rowing hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Complete Day 1 of Clemson Invite
Weather moves session 2 to Sunday morning
Bad weather Saturday afternoon caused session two of the Clemson Invitational to be moved to Sunday morning.
Bad weather Saturday afternoon caused session two of the Clemson Invitational to be moved to Sunday morning.
Women's Rowing Home

Hawkeyes Coach for College

Baustian Named 2nd Team Pocock All-American

Iowa Rowing Adds 2 for 2016-17

Email this to a friend

April 19, 2014

CLEMSON, S.C. -- The University of Iowa women's rowing team competed in the first session of the Clemson Invitational on Saturday morning. Due to inclement weather, session two of the invitational, originally scheduled for Saturday afternoon, will begin at 7:45 a.m. Sunday. Session three will follow on Sunday afternoon.

In the 1V8+ race, Iowa placed seventh with a time of 7:31.90, 14 seconds behind Dartmouth (7:17.20). Indiana won the race with a time of 7:05.80 and No. 14 Washington State finished second with a time of 7:06.80.

Iowa's 2V8+ boat placed sixth in 7:50.70, edging out Dartmouth (8:00.40) by 10 seconds. Thirteenth-ranked Harvard finished first in 7:28.20 and Indiana finished runner-up in 7:31.80.

In the 1V4+ race, the Hawkeyes finished fifth in 8:41.30 ahead of Indiana (8:51.00) and Dartmouth (8:55.70). No. 16 Wisconsin finished first in 8:19.50, while No. 18 Syracuse took second in 8:27.10.

The Hawkeyes' 2V4+ boat recorded the teams' highest finish of the day as they took the runner-up spot in its race with a time of 8:49.1. No. 12-ranked UCLA won the race in 8:46.2, edging out the Iowa boat.

In Iowa's final race of the day, the 3V8+ boat finished fifth in 8:06.60, upsetting Washington State by less than a second (8:07.50) and beating Texas by seven seconds (8:13.10).

Fans can find session one results HERE and watch live streaming of the final two sessions HERE.

Session two races will begin at 6:45 a.m. (CT) with session three races starting 30 minutes after.


1V8+: Brianna Achs, Beth Baustian, Morgan Grastorf, Lauren Subler, Claire Benschoter, Zoe Ribar, Edwina Flakemore, Erin Czupil, Sarah Bartlett (coxswain)

2V8+: Laura Hallman, Madeline Anglin, Nicole Mitchell, Allison Hanson, Gabrielle Watson, Cristy Hartman, Jessica Streur, Rebecca Thompson, Katie Brown (coxswain)

1V4+: Nina Hendriks, Alyssa Armstrong, Sarah Rhoads, Mackenzie Norton, Destinee Gwee (coxswain)

2V4+: Rachel Crosley, Kasia Gniatczyk, Bec Clayton, Skylar McSorley, Rachel Chambers (coxswain)

1N8+: Kelly Below, Tess Kopecky, Trisha Martin, Kathleen Meek, Kat Tillman, Kiah Allen, Emily Miller, Lauren VanderWall, Alyse Higgins (coxswain)

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago