Hawkeyes Host Wisconsin on Senior Day - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Women's Soccer hawkeyesports.com
Hawkeyes Host Wisconsin on Senior Day
Big Ten Tournament birth on the line for Iowa
Jade Grimm, who has started in 70 career matches, will be one of six seniors honored Saturday.
Jade Grimm, who has started in 70 career matches, will be one of six seniors honored Saturday.
Women's Soccer Home

Spring Hours Bring Fall Power

Iowa Soccer Recruiting Class Ranked 28th Nationally

Iowa Splits Weekend In Nebraska

Follow all of the college soccer action at CollegeSports.com

Email this to a friend

Oct. 24, 2012

  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye iPhone app!
  • Download your Iowa Hawkeye Android app!
  • Big Ten Network: Free Hawkeye Video
  • 24 Hawkeyes to Watch

    The Last Meeting
    October 29, 2011
    Madison, Wis.
    Hawkeyes Blank Wisconsin
    The University of Iowa women's soccer team shutout Wisconsin, 2-0, in Madison Saturday afternoon. With the win, the 2011 team concludes the regular season with a 13-4-2 overall record, the best in program history, and a 5-4-2 mark in Big Ten play.

    Week 11 Notes Get Acrobat Reader

    The University of Iowa women's soccer team will host Wisconsin in the final match of the regular season. The Hawkeyes and Badgers will meet at 1 p.m. at the Iowa Soccer Complex. Fans can follow Iowa's GameTracker online for live results.

    Iowa will honor its seniors - Allie Adam, Gabby Ainsworth, Stef Campbell, Dana Dalrymple, Jade Grimm and Kat Lewis - before first touch at the Iowa-Wisconsin match. The class has won 41 matches over the past four years. Only once has Iowa had a more successful four-year stretch, which came in 1998-2002 with 43 victories. Iowa's six seniors have earned a combined 23 letters.

    The Iowa-Wisconsin match will also be Fan Appreciation Day, and will feature a number of promotions. One fan will win an autographed soccer ball by the entire team, and a large number of soccer t-shirts will be given away. The first 100 kids in attendance will get a free Iowa trick-or-treat bag.

    The top-eight teams in Big Ten standings at the end of the regular season advance to the Big Ten Tournament. Iowa, currently sitting in ninth, could finish anywhere between eighth and 11th. To advance as the eight seed to the conference tournament, Iowa needs a win over Wisconsin and an Ohio State win over Indiana. If that happens, both Iowa and Indiana would finish with 12 points, but Iowa would win the head-to-head tie-breaker with a 1-0 victory over the Hoosiers earlier this season.

    The 2012 Big Ten Tournament will be hosted by Indiana University at Armstrong Stadium. The tournament lasts from Oct. 31-Nov. 4th. Fans can visit the tournament central page for more information. http://www.iuhoosiers.com/sports/w-soccer/spec-rel/2012-bigten-championships.html.

    The Badgers (12-5-1, 5-4-1) are winners of their last five matches and sit seventh in Big Ten standings. Wisconsin ranks fourth in the conference in goals (30), and seventh in goals allowed (20). Sophomore forward Cara Walls leads Wisconsin with 21 points off 10 goals and an assist. Senior goalkeeper Lauren Gunderson has a 10-4-0 record with a 1.27 goals against average.

    If Iowa defeats Wisconsin, the Indiana-Ohio State match would decide Iowa's postseason future. The Hoosiers (9-8-1, 4-6-0) host No. 25 Ohio State (12-4-1, 7-2-1) on Friday in Bloomington, Ind. The Buckeyes are winners of five straight matches.

    Nebraska dealt Iowa a heartbreaking home loss, scoring a golden goal with 43 seconds remaining in the first overtime period. Senior Kat Lewis scored a penalty kick to tie the match at 1-1 in the second half, but Caroline Gray's last-minute overtime goal lifted Nebraska to the win. Freshman goalkeepers Meg Goodson held the Cornhuskers scoreless in the first half, and sophomore Katie Nasenbenny led Iowa's offense with four shots.

    Another late goal doomed Iowa on the road, as Northwestern scored on an 85th minute header from Niki Sebo to win, 1-0. Goodson kept Northwestern scoreless in the first half, while freshman goalkeeper Hannah Clark made three saves in the second frame. Junior Ashley Catrell led the attack with four shots.

    Stability in the lineup has been an asset for Iowa. The Hawkeyes have used the same starting lineup in the past eight matches, and have started the same player for every match in eight of 11 positions. Jade Grimm, Katie Brown, Melanie Pickert, Kat Lewis, Anne Marie Thomas, Ashley Catrell, Katie Nasenbenny and Dana Dalrymple have started every match. Alex Melin and Cloe Lacasse have started all but one match this season.

    Senior Kat Lewis is 3-for-3 on penalty kicks this season, scoring goals against Eastern Illinois, Indiana and Nebraska.

    With Iowa's shutout at Minnesota, the Hawkeyes have set the program record for shutouts in a season (10). Iowa had nine shutouts last season. The Hawkeyes have blanked Eastern Illinois, North Dakota, Loyola Chicago, Northern Iowa, LIU Brooklyn, Saint Louis, and Big Ten opponents Indiana, Michigan, Michigan State and Minnesota.

    Iowa is tied for third in the conference in goals against average (0.80) and tied for third in goals allowed (15). The Hawkeyes rank first in saves (94) and second in shutouts (10).

    The Hawkeyes are ninth in the NSCAA Great Lakes Poll. The Big Ten has four teams ranked within the top-30 of the NCAA RPI Poll.

    Iowa finished undefeated in nonconference play for the second consecutive season. Iowa went 9-0-0 and outscored its opponents 30-3 before opening Big Ten play. Iowa has won its last 18 nonconference matches, outscoring its opponents 71-8 in that stretch. Iowa is undefeated in its past 19 nonconference matches, with its last loss coming on Sept. 19, 2010.

    The Hawkeyes have three team captains this season. Senior Dana Dalrymple and Kat Lewis and junior Alex Melin were voted as captains by their teammates.

    Ron Rainey
    Iowa head coach Ron Rainey enters his seventh season at the helm of the program as the winningest coach in program history. Rainey has 63 victories with the Hawkeyes, and sports a 154-122-38 overall coaching record. Rainey guided Iowa to its most successful season in program history last year, as Iowa went 13-4-3 and had its highest winning percentage ever. Rainey has guided the Hawkeyes to three Big Ten Tournaments, and has helped five Hawkeyes earn All-Big Ten honors.


    Allie Adam
    Adam is a midfielder from Omaha, Neb. She has competed in 34 matches as a Hawkeye, scored one goal and was an Academic All-Big Ten selection as a junior. Adam will be a three-year letter-winner.

    Ainsworth is a midfielder from Prior Lake, Minn. She has played in 63 career matches, tallying three goals and two assists. She will be a four-year letterwinner.

    Campbell, a midfielder from The Colony, Texas, will be a four-year letterwinner. She has seen action in 34 career matches, recording one goal and three assist.

    Dana Dalrymple
    Dalrymple is an attacking midfielder from Cincinnati, Ohio. She is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and will be a four-year letterwinner. Dalrymple has collected 38 points with 14 goals in her career, and ranks third in program history in game-winning goals.

    Jade Grimm
    Grimm, a defender from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, has started in 70 matches in her career. She was named to the Big Ten All-Freshman team in 2009 and is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. Grimm helped Iowa set the program record for shutouts in a season.

    Lewis is a defender from Cedar Rapids, Iowa. She will be a four-year letter winner and has started in 49 consecutive matches. Lewis has seven points this season with three goals and an assist, and helped the team set the program record for shutouts in a season.

  • Twitter
    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago