Greenan Named Big Ten Coach Of the Year - Hawkeye Sports Official Athletic Site
Women's Tennis
Greenan Named Big Ten Coach Of the Year
Senior Meg Racette also earned conference honors
Greenan led the Hawkeyes to a 9-1 conference record this season.
Greenan led the Hawkeyes to a 9-1 conference record this season.
Women's Tennis Home

24 Hawkeyes to Watch: Aimee Tarun

Reimchen Earns B1G Sportsmanship Honor

Douglas named MVP at Awards Banquet

Follow all of the college tennis action at

Email this to a friend

April 28, 2006

PARK RIDGE, IL - University of Iowa women's tennis coach Daryl Greenan has been named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.  The announcement was made by the Conference office.

The Hawkeyes went 9-1 in Big Ten play under Coach Greenan this season, earning the second seed in the Big Ten Championship.

In other conference awards, senior Meg Racette was named to the 2006 All-Big Ten Team. Racette was a unanimous selection. She played No. 1 singles for the Hawkeyes, posting a 17-4 dual record, while going 9-1 in Big Ten play. In doubles, Racette has a 15-6 mark at the No. 1 spot.

Jacqueline Lee was also announced as a Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree. This honor is for individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.

Lee is now a candidate for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from Iowa at the end of the school year.

Racette, Lee and the rest of the Hawkeyes will compete this weekend at the Big Ten Championships in Champaign, IL.

2006 All-Big Ten Team
Macall Harkins, Illinois*
Sarah Batty, Indiana*
Meg Racette, Iowa*
Kara Delicata, Michigan
Elizabeth Exon, Michigan
Christine Bader, Michigan State
Nischela Reddy, Minnesota*
Cristelle Grier, Northwestern*
Georgia Rose, Northwestern*
Alexis Prousis, Northwestern
Randi Schuler, Purdue*
Caitlin Burke, Wisconsin

Freshman of the Year
Georgia Rose, Northwestern

Athlete of the Year
Cristelle Grier, Northwestern*

Coach of the Year
Daryl Greenan, Iowa

* Unanimous Selection

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago